Italy’s elections

What will the vote mean for euro-area stability?

Tuesday, February 20, 15:00 UK / 10:00 EST

Europe faces its next big challenge when Italy heads to the polls on March 4. The outcome is uncertain: although the centre-right opposition has seen a rise in support in recent weeks, it may fail to win a majority of votes.

Support for the governing centre-left has dropped from a peak of more than 40% in the 2014 European elections to around 23-25%.

If neither bloc is able to win a majority, the two main parties, Matteo Renzi’s Democratic Party and Silvio Berlusconi’s Forza Italia, could form a grand coalition -- or there could be political deadlock followed by a repeat election.

• Will Italy’s parties manage to form a functioning government after the election?
• Will the populist anti-establishment Five Star Movement emerge as the strongest party?
• What will political deadlock mean for EU and euro-area reform?
• Will a new government tackle Italy’s structural problems?

Share your thoughts on the above and put your questions on anything else that concerns or excites you about Italy’s elections to three of Oxford Analytica's expert senior advisors in our special client conference call on Tuesday, February 20, 15.00 GMT, 10.00 EST.